The Minor Arcana

(from The Girl’s Guide to Tarot by Kathleen Olmstead)

You have power over these cards. They are “free will” cards. If you don’t like what they have to tell you, you can change the outcome by trusting your instincts and directing your actions in such a way to alter the energy.

Important to remember:

ACE cards are all about new beginnings. All the power and energy of the suit appear full force in the ace card.

FIVES represent important turning points. A moment when things begin to break down.

TENS are about finishing. Usually indicate success, but the journey isn’t over yet.

PAGES are enthusiastic and thoughtful

KNIGHTS are energetic and on a quest

QUEENS are balanced, mature and with thoughtful insight – often caring and nurturing.

KINGS offer experience and authority. They provide good advice.

The Suits and Elements





Each suit contains properties of this element. Always notice which suit dominates a spread.

Fire – fire can help or harm us. It is never still but always active and moving. Fire is passion. Sudden inspiration.   Action, will, sex, desire, energy, purification, destruction, protection, strength.

Water –Cleanses, purifies, sustains, and comforts us. Symbolizes vision and wisdom and our spiritual intuitive side. Emotions, dreams, compassion, love, sadness, psychism, healing, rest, and cleansing.

Air – intellect and communication, thought, travel, teaching, freedom, joy, laughter, beginnings

Earth – lessons in balance and harmony; grounded and secure. Stability, wealth, home, strength, grounding, protecting, nature, animals.